History Principal's Message Parent Welcome Advisory Council Bell Schedules Cafeteria Teacher & Staff Directory Calendars Carteret County Schools Handbook Driver's Ed Dress Code Student Parking Buses Fundraisers Faculty Resources Prom Student Handbook
CTE English Exceptional Children Fine Arts Foreign Languages Health & PE Math Science History
Athletic Information & Forms Booster Club Coaches Cheerleading Wrestling MaxPreps
All Clubs Leo Club Mathletes TARC Yearbook
Online Catalog Library Information Student Stuff Library News e-book Resources Teacher Resources
General Information Carteret Community College College Acceptances College Information Registering for Classes Scholarship Information School Social Work SRO Stop Bullying Student Opportunties Testing Information
2012-SWMLogo.jpg

Attendance Information

AAM_Memes2015-absenteeism.jpg

School Attendance Information

  • It is the law in North Carolina that students between the ages of 7 and 16 attend school.  (G.S. 115C-378).

 

  • Once enrolled in public school, parents of 5 and 6 year old students are bound by the compulsory attendance law.

 

  • It is important to be on time to school and avoid checking out early.

 

  • Parents/guardians must send in a written note explaining every absence of their student within 2 days returning to school.

 

  • If a note is not received, the absence will remain unexcused. 

 

  • Parents/guardians receive a letter of notification after 3, 6, and 10 unexcused absences.

 

  • Lawful reasons for an excused absence by the State of North Carolina include illness or injury, death in the immediate family, medical or dental appointment, court or administrative proceeding, pre and post deployment activity with parent/guardian, quarantine, religious observance and educational opportunities pre-approved by the principal.

 

  • If an elementary or middle school student accrues 16 or more absences, it may impact the student’s ability for promotion to the next grade.  A high school student with more than 8 absences in a class may not receive credit for that class.

 

  • If a student has excessive absences, the parent/guardian and student may be required to meet with the school social worker.  The parent/guardian and student may be required to sign an attendance contract and provide a doctor’s note for any further illness related absence.

 

  • After meeting with the school social worker, if the student continues experiencing unexcused absences, the parent/guardian or student may be prosecuted in court for breaking the compulsory attendance law.
AW-poster.png